Savannah Morning News: Colin McRae honored as Savannah Tech ‘”Community Star”

April 11, 2015

Colin McRae

As published in Savannah Morning News

The Savannah Technical College Foundation Community Council honored 21 people Friday at the 2015 Tribute to Community STARS. The event, now in its ninth year, honors individuals nominated for their service and dedication at work or in the community.

This year’s honorees include:

• Scott Boylston, program coordinator of Masters in Design Sustainability at SCAD, sponsored by DIRTT.

• Randy Bugos, president and CEO, YMCA of Coastal Georgia, sponsored by Wells Fargo.

• Ruth Ann Dutton, 2015 Savannah Tech GOAL student of the year, sponsored by Savannah Technical College Foundation Community Council.

• Marsha Fogarty, general sales manager, WTOC-TV, sponsored by WTOC-TV.

• Steve Green, president and CEO, Stephen Green Properties, sponsored by Georgia Ports Authority.

• Austin Hil, president, Austin Hill Realty, sponsored by Historic Savannah Foundation.• Sarah Hunt, 2015 Savannah Tech Rick Perkins instructor of the year, sponsored by Savannah Technical College.

• Bob James, president, Carver State Bank, sponsored by SEDA.

• Eric Johnson, principal, Hussey Gay Bell, sponsored by National Office Systems.

• Peggy Jolley, regional manager, Community and Economic Development, Georgia Power, sponsored by Georgia Power.

• Don Kole, chairman, Kole Management Co., sponsored by First Chatham Bank.

• Aaron Levy, former owner and president, Levy Jewelers, sponsored by Tenenbaum Consulting.

• Beth Logan, director of marketing and volunteer services, Hospice Savannah, sponsored by Advertising Specialty Services.

• Brandon Matias, 2015 Savannah Tech EAGLE student of the year, sponsored by United Way of the Coastal Empire.

• Sam McCachern, president and CEO, Thomas & Hutton, sponsored by Savannah Morning News and Savannah Magazine.

• John McIver, former mayor, Riceboro, and former chairman, Liberty County Commission, sponsored by SNF Holding Co.

Colin McRae, partner, HunterMaclean, sponsored by HunterMaclean.

• Michael Owens, president and CEO, Tourism Leadership Council, sponsored by

• Tom Oxnard, president, board of directors, Horizons Savannah, sponsored by Mary and Howard Morrison.

• Bill Wessinger, orthopedic surgeon, Memorial Health University Physicians, sponsored by Judy and Dick Eckburg.

• Linda Zoller, community leader, sponsored by Helen Downing.

Previous events have recognized an additional 150 people. The event is sponsored by the Savannah Technical College Foundation Community Council, which raises money to support the college and its programs.

Related News