Jennifer Sawyer Appointed to SEDA Advisory Council

June 19, 2012

By Mary Carr Mayle, Savannah Morning News

The Savannah Economic Development Authority recently announced new appointments to its SEDA advisory council. The council, made up of area business, education and community leaders, assists and advises the SEDA board on strategic planning and direction, as well as serving as advocates for the organization.

“Not only does the SEDA advisory council serve as some of our most valuable advocates, they bring a wealth of knowledge that will be beneficial to SEDA,” said Steve Weathers, SEDA president and CEO. “We look forward to working with the council and getting their valuable input.”

“SEDA is a leading economic development authority in the state and the country,” said council member Sam McCachern, senior vice president of Thomas & Hutton who was reappointed to a second term. “I look forward to continue working with the SEDA Board of Directors, the rest of the advisory council and the SEDA staff as we continue to grow, attract and develop new business opportunities for the region.”

Advisory council members, who will serve a two-year term consistent with the term of the current chairman of the board of directors, include:

Jennifer Abshire, Abshire Public Relations; Nelson Baker, Georgia Institute of Technology; Ashley
Barnwell, Savannah Christian Prep School; Chad Barrow, Coastal
Logistics Group; Linda Bleiken, president, Armstrong Atlantic State University; John Coleman, Bonitz of Georgia, Inc.; Cheryl Dozier, Savannah State University; Tony Edgerly, International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers; and Danny Falligant, Ingleby Falligant.

Also, Curtis Foltz, Georgia Ports Authority; Karen Guinn, JCB; Lee Hughes, Hughes Public Affairs; Al Kennickell, Kennickell Printing Co.; Thomas Lockamy, Savannah Chatham County Public Schools; Kathy Love, Savannah Technical College; Monica Mastrianni, Greenline Architects; Sam McCachern, Thomas & Hutton; Anthony Phillips, Advent Dental; Chadwick Reese, Chatham Area Transit; Joseph “Rusty” Ross, Morris, Manning & Martin LLP; Jennifer Sawyer, HunterMaclean; Peter Weishar, SCAD Film and Digital Media; and Jim Williams, Mitsubishi Power Systems.

Council members are responsible for regularly attending and actively participating in SEDA board meetings, events and activities; staying informed on relevant issues; providing support as may be requested and advocating on SEDA’s behalf in the local community, throughout the state and across the country as opportunities allow.

Related News